Local Elections 2021

Elections of 5 June 2021

On Saturday, 5 June 2021, regular municipal elections will be held in Latvia. Unlike previous municipal elections, there will be a significantly smaller number of local government and councillors to be elected. In the result of the administrative territorial reform, which currently is carried out, there will be 42 municipalities in Latvia instead of the previous 119, while the number of councillors will fall by almost half.

! Elections in the Riga municipality will not take place this year because the City Council was elected in the extraordinary elections last year and will continue to work until the elections of 2025.

In municipal elections, for the first time, voters will be given the opportunity to vote at any polling station in their municipality. At the polling station, the election commission’s employee will scan the voter's passport or identity card and make sure that the voter is included in the voter list of the respective municipality and that there is no indication of his or her participation in the elections in the register. If the voter has the right to vote, the polling station commission will register the voter in the electronic voter register and write additional information about the voter into the voters list, where the voter will sign up for the receipt of electoral materials.

Electoral rights

Citizens of Latvia and other Member States of the European Union over the age of 18 have the right to participate in local government elections. Citizens of the European Union must be registered in the Population Register of Latvia 90 days before the elections in order to participate in local government elections in Latvia. All voters must be registered in the Electoral register. Voters have the right to vote in the municipality where they have their registered residence 90 days before the election day or in the municipality where they own real estate registered in accordance with the procedures specified by law.

Lists of candidates, pre-election programmes

The submission of lists of candidates for the Local elections of 2021 will take place from March 17 to April 6.

Electoral register

In municipal elections, the Electoral register shall be used for voter registration. Each voter is registered at his or her polling station according to his registered place of residence 90 days before the election day. In the Local elections of 2021, the day will be 7 March.

It is planned that an online voter register at polling stations will be used for the first time in this election, which will allow voters to vote at any polling station in their municipality.

Voters will be able to find out their constituencies and polling stations of the constituency from March 27 by using the e-service of the Office of Citizenship and Migration Affairs or by calling the hotline.

From 27 March to 27 May, voters online or in person will also be able to change their constituency if they choose to vote in the constituency in which they own real estate.

Voting procedure

The working time of polling stations on the municipal election day, 5 June, will be between 7:00 and 20:00. Voters will also be able to vote early:

  • on Monday, 31 May, from 16:00 to 20:00;
  • on Thursday, 3 June, from 9:00 to 16:00;
  • on Friday, 4 June, from 13:00 to 20:00.

Postal voting from abroad

This year, for the first time, voters eligible to participate in municipal elections, which are staying abroad during elections, will be allowed to apply for postal voting from abroad. Voters will have to apply for postal voting in advance – from 27 March to 24 April. It will be possible to submit application on the State Administration Services portal www.latvija.lv, using e-service of the Office of Citizenship and Migration Affairs, in the embassies or representations of the Republic of Latvia, in the Central Election Commission or via the official electronic address.

Pre-election campaign

The pre-election campaign period runs from the 120th day (6 February) before the elections to the Election Day. Supervision of pre-election campaign shall be performed by the Corruption Prevention and Combating Bureau, the National Electronic Media Council, the State Police and Municipal Police, depending on the type of the campaign. The chairperson of the polling station commission shall be responsible for preventing the campaign in polling stations and within the area of 50 metres from the polling station.